SHANG-CHI SUN

Start   › Works   › Vita   › Dates   › Pictures   › Videos   › Downloads   › Contact   › Imprint  

Shang-Chi Sun (Taiwanese, born 1977) is a Taiwanese choreographer. Since 2001 he lives in Berlin, Germany.

He was educated at the National Academy of Arts in Taiwan. There he studied contemporary dance, traditional chinese dance and classical ballet. In 2001 he left Taiwan and went to Germany for his artistic development. He started to collaborate with choreographers such as Lin Hwai-Min, Sasha Waltz, Daniela Kurz, Russel Mapliphant and others.

In 2007, he established the Shang Chi Sun Company in Taiwan.

In 2008 he earned the first award at the 12th International Solo Tanz Theatre Festival Stuttgart with his choreography „Dialog II“. The same year he performed that piece at Maison de la danse in Lyon, France.

In 2010, he graduated from the „Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch“, University of Arts Berlin with a Master of Arts in Choreography. 

He has created several works which have been presented in Europe and Asia e.g. at the Philharmonie Köln, Tanz im August Berlin, Festival d’Avignon France, International Taipei Arts Festival, Shizuoka Arts Festival Japan, Cité de la Musique (Paris), Taiwan International Fesitval of Arts, International Dance Festival Tel Aviv, Hong Kong Arts Festival, Neues Museum Nürnberg, and Leverkusen Bayer Kultur. 

He cooperated with other companies for commissioned works, among others with Sasha Waltz & Guests, Cloud Gate Dance Theatre 2 (Taiwan), with the Transitions Company London as well as the Dance Company of the City Theatre Osnabrück. 

In 2017 he created for the Taipei Fine Arts Museum a live exhibition piece „Perspicuum“. It questions how transparency can be interpreted by symbols which exist in our society.

Awards

2005: Received "Bavarian Theatre and Literature Prize" from the IHK-Kulturstifung.
2008: Won "First Choreography Prize" at the 12th International Solo Tanz Festival Stuttgart.

Supports

2012: Traverse has been selected for the priority list of the European network Aerowaves 

Shang-Chi Sun collaborated with Senat Berlin, Goethe Institut, Cloud Gate Dance Foundation and the Culture Center of Taiwan in Paris.


 

REVIEW

This one-hour "track" does not end before the turbulences are evaporated and all movement turns back to peace. Morendo, danced abandonment of single tones builds up the final metaphor. Silence like at the beginning. But the outcome of this highly successful, the senses captivating evening is tragic.

Stefan Amzoll, Neues Deutschland, 11.07.2016 




 

DOWNLOAD

 

WORKSHOPS WITH SHANG-CHI SUN

Surface and space of movements / Improvisation

Starting from the inner space of the body, Shang Chi Sun extends the frame of movement in three dimensionality. Simple Tai Chi practices help to find the inner balance and to improve the consciousness for the body. Further exercises enable to explore the environment, the surfaces, and the forces and to use them for different kind and qualities of movements: levels, balance, intensity and extension. Shang Chi Sun combines ballet and contemporary dance technics as well as Tai chi to vary and to use consciously the “resonance” of movements. Finally improvisation based on everyday life experience gives the opportunity to play with these qualities and to use them in dance phrases.  


Energy, mind and body in movement

Energy and presence in movements are both a mirror of the mind. Dancing is an expression of the inner attitude that finds a translation through body and nerves. Shang Chi Sun uses this experience and proposes a dance technic combining body and mind as well as occidental and oriental body practices. First the consciousness and the inner balance are improved through simple Tai chi exercises. Then the action field of the body is widened to the surrounding space. Point after point lines and directions are being built and used to work on variable extension and energy of movement. The body is used as a whole to experience a better movement dynamic.

 
DE · EN

SHANG-CHI SUN

Start   › Works   › Vita   › Dates   › Pictures   › Videos   › Downloads   › Contact   › Imprint  

Shang-Chi Sun wurde an der National Academy of Arts in Taiwan ausgebildet. Er studierte dort zeitgen√∂ssischen Tanz, traditionellen chinesischen Tanz und klassisches Ballett.  Im Jahr 2001 verlie√ü Shang-Chi Sun Taiwan und ging nach Deutschland um sich k√ľnstlerisch weiter zu entwickeln.

In den darauffolgenden Jahren arbeitete und kollaborierte er unter anderem mit Choreographen wie Daniela Kurz, Sasha Waltz, Lin Hoai-Min, Russel Mapliphant. 

2007 gr√ľndete Sun in Taiwan die Shang Chi Sun Company.

2008 gewann er mit der Choreographie ‚ÄěDialog II‚Äú den ersten Preis bei dem 12. Internationalen Solo Tanztheater Festival in Stuttgart. Im gleichen Jahr wurde das St√ľck bei Maison de la danse in Lyon (Frankreich) aufgef√ľhrt.

Im Jahr 2010 absolvierte Sun den Musterstudiengang Choreography an der Hochschule f√ľr Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch (Universit√§t der K√ľnste,  Berlin).

Seitdem schuf Sun eine Vielzahl von Arbeiten, die in Europa,  Asien und Amerika aufgef√ľhrt wurden. 

Unter anderem fanden Auff√ľhrungen an folgenden H√§usern/Festivals statt: Philharmonie K√∂ln, Tanz im August Berlin, Festival d‚ÄôAvignon France, International Taipei Arts Festival, Shizuoka Arts Festival Japan, Cit√© de la Musique (Paris), Taiwan International Fesitval of Arts, International Dance Festival Tel Aviv, Hong Kong Arts Festival, Neues Museum N√ľrnberg, and Leverkusen Bayer Kultur, Festival DANCA EN TRANSITO Rio de Janeiro, 16th Contemporary Dance Showcase from Japan + East Asia in New York.

Sun kooperierte unter anderem mit Sasha Waltz & Guests, Cloud Gate Dance Theatre 2 (Taiwan), der Transitions Company London und dem Staatstheater Osnabr√ľck.

In 2018 war er an der National Arts University of Taiwan als Gastprofessor t√§tig. Er hat auch den Distinguished Alumnus Awards von der National Arts University of Taiwan erhalten.




 

PRESSE

Jene einst√ľndigen ‚ÄěSpur‚Äú endet nicht, bevor die Turbulenzen eingedampft sind und alle Bewegung im Zeichen der Hinkehr zur Ruhe steht. Morendo, getanzte Verlassenheit auf Einzelt√∂nen lauten die finalen Metaphern. Stille wie zu Beginn. Doch der Ausgang dieses h√∂chst gelungenen, die Sinnen fesselnden Abends ist tragisch.

Stefan Amzoll, Neues Deutschland, 11.07.2016 



 

DOWNLOAD


 

WORKSHOPS MIT SHANG-CHI SUN

Fläche und Raum der Bewegung / Improvisation

Ausgehend vom Raum des K√∂rpers entwickelt Shang-Chi Sun eine schrittweise Erweiterung der Bewegungs-m√∂glichkeiten in die Dreidimensionalit√§t. Mit einfachen Tai-Chi √úbungen werden zuerst die innere Mitte und das Bewusstsein f√ľr den eigenen K√∂rper gefestigt. Kleine √úbungen f√ľhren zur Wahrnehmung der Umgebung, der Fl√§chen, der Kr√§fte und leiten √ľber zu unterschiedlichen Bewegungserfahrungen und -qualit√§ten: Boden und H√∂hen, Gewicht, Intensit√§t und Ausdehnung. Shang Chi Sun kombiniert Techniken von Ballett und Zeitgen√∂ssischem Tanz sowie Tai-Chi, um den ‚ÄěKlang‚Äú des Tanzes zu variieren und bewusster einzusetzen. Basierend auf Alltagserfahrungen werden schlie√ülich in kleinen Improvisationen die Bewegungsqualit√§ten ausprobiert und in Tanzsequenzen kombiniert.


Energie, Geist und Körper in Bewegung

Die Energie und die Ausstrahlung der Bewegung ist ein Spiegel der Seele. Tanzen ist ein Ausdruck der inneren Haltung, die durch den K√∂rper und das Nervensystem ihren Ausdruck findet. Ausgehend von dieser Erfahrung entwickelt Shang Chi Sun eine Tanztechnik, die K√∂rper und Geist sowie westliche und fern√∂stliche K√∂rpertrainings verbindet. Zuerst werden das Bewusstsein und das innere Gleichgewicht durch einfache Tai-Chi-√úbungen gefestigt. Dann wird der Radius des K√∂rpers auf den gesamten Raum erweitert. Punkt f√ľr Punkt werden Linien und Richtungen aufgebaut, an denen Ausdehnung und Energie der Bewegung variiert werden. Der K√∂rper wird in seiner Gesamtheit eingesetzt, um eine bewusste Bewegungsdynamik zu erzeugen.

 
DE · EN