SHANG-CHI SUN

Start   › Works   › Vita   › Dates   › Pictures   › Videos   › Downloads   › Contact   › Imprint  


Threads

Music and dance creation by Roque Rivas and Shang-Chi Sun
2013
Credits   Pictures   Video


Threads

Music and dance creation by Roque Rivas and Shang-Chi Sun
2013

This project associating GRAME (Lyon) and DAC (Taipei) to the composer Roque Rivas and choreographer Shang-Shi Sun allows the dancers to interact with sound and visual materials.

Amplifying the movement, «increasing it» is something that has always concerned the choreographers, composers, dancers and musicians. GRAME went on this research for several years in the field of music, dance and multlmedia productions, as well as visual and sound installations. «The tool sensor» is developed in the context of artistic (musical, dance...) reflexion. These projects and realizations change the boundaries between music and dance : for example, the body of the musician and of the dancer is confused, until the change of roles. This 30 minute project is based on «3D angular tracking» of the performers gestures. We can describe the term of « Instrumental scenography » thanks to the idea of composing a scenographic space made of movements captation transformed to sound and visual productions.

The title Threads has a double meaning. First it evokes a series of threads composing a sound cloth, slowly evolving in time. Then a computer notion about two or several actions progressing in parallel. 

From these concepts, the show is built with gestures looking like sinusoids or waves, made of several sound threads , that will transform its inner architecture through various process. Two dancers are situated inside that architecture, interlacing their movements and stimulated by the rhythm and the sound energy evolution. The organic aspect of music, from time to time smooth and floating, or intense and pulsative, increases the physical dynamics of movements. 

In Threads the links between dance, music and video have been redefined. The dancers, logged on through the gesture sensors, create a new corpus : an interactive space corpus. The stage is no longer a space where an action occurs, but now includes the action and the musical expressivity through the movement.It becomes an echo and an extension to the human body. As in an organic process, the dancers’ movements sculpt the sounds, make them proliferate and broadcast them into the space. Even more powerful than in the frame of an exhibition, their movements and feelings are the focus, the origin and the receiver of that environment. 

Threads is thus presented as a fascinating dialog between the body and technology in a work that brings out how ambiguous the relations between the arts can be."

 



Credits

Composer Roque Rivas

Choreography Shang-Shi Sun

Stage & technology Christophe Lebreton

Danse Ruben Reniers, Annapaola Leso

Light Hans FrĂĽndt

Video Ting Hao Yeh, Chien-Chao Wang

A production by GRAME, National Centre for Contemporary Music, Lyon and DAC, Digital Art Centre, Taipei

EARLIER DATES
October 22nd 2016 | Threads + Traverse | Tongyeong International Music Foundation, South Korea
June 17th 2014 | Threads + Traverse | Enghiens (F), Festival Bains Numériques
March 15th 2014 | Threads | Biennale Musiques en Scène, ENSATT, Lyon (F)
November 22nd to 23rd 2013 | Threads | 8th Digital Performing Arts Taipei (TW)

Pictures

Video

Trailer Threads

 
DE · EN

SHANG-CHI SUN

Start   › Works   › Vita   › Dates   › Pictures   › Videos   › Downloads   › Contact   › Imprint  


Threads

Music and dance creation by Roque Rivas and Shang-Chi Sun
2013
Credits   Pictures   Video


Threads

Music and dance creation by Roque Rivas and Shang-Chi Sun
2013

Dieses Projekt, eine Koproduktion von GRAME (Lyon) und DAC (Taipeh), bringt den Komponisten Roque Rivas und den Choreograf Shang-Shi Sun zusammen in einem StĂŒck, in dem Tanz mit Ton -und Bildmaterialien interagiert.

Die Bewegung verstĂ€rken, sie „verlĂ€ngern“ ist ein Thema, das gleichermaßen Choreografen, Komponisten, TĂ€nzer und Musiker immer beschĂ€ftigt hat. GRAME arbeitet seit mehreren Jahren auf dem Gebiet der Musik, Tanz und Multimedia, sowie visuelle und Klanginstallationen. « Der Werkzeugsensor » wurde im Rahmen dieser kĂŒnstlerischen Forschung entwickelt. Diese Technik verschiebt die Grenzen zwischen Musik und Tanz: Die Körper des Musikers und der TĂ€nzer verschmelzen und die Rollen werden stĂ€ndig getauscht. Dieses 30 Minuten-Projekt basiert auf «3D Angular Tracking »,, das die Bewegungen der TĂ€nzer aufnimmt und dadurch eine « Instrumentale Szenografie » verwirklicht. Die Komposition der Bewegungen wird in Klang und visuellen Elemente verwandelt.

Der Titel Threads hat eine doppelte Bedeutung. Er bezieht sich zuerst auf die FĂ€den eines Klangteppichs, der sich langsam in der Zeit ausbreitet. Er bezeichnet auch die Prozesse eines Computers, der zwei oder mehrere Aktionen parallel berechnet.

Dieses StĂŒck besteht aus Bewegungen, die Sinuskurven oder Wellen Ă€hneln und aus mehreren KlangfĂ€den. Sie verĂ€ndern ihre innere Architektur durch verschiedene EinflĂŒsse. Zwei TĂ€nzer befinden sich innerhalb dieser Architektur, ihre Bewegungen sind verwoben und werden durch den Rhythmus der Schallenergie stimuliert. Die organische Komposition der Musik, mal leise und schwebend, mal intensiv und pulsierend, erhöht die körperliche Dynamik.

In Threads die Beziehungen zwischen Tanz, Musik und Video wurden neu definiert. Die TĂ€nzer, verbunden durch Bewegungssensoren, bilden einen neuen Korpus: ein interaktiver Raumkorpus. Die BĂŒhne ist nicht mehr ein Raum, in dem eine Aktion stattfindet, sondern wird nun selbst zum Bestand der musikalischen ExpressivitĂ€t der Bewegung. Sie wird zum Echo und zur Erweiterung des menschlichen Körpers. Wie in einem Organismus, die Bewegungen der TĂ€nzer formen die Töne, vermehren sie und ĂŒbertragen sie in den Raum. Noch deutlicher stehen die Stimmungen und die GefĂŒhle im Mittelpunkt, sie sind die Herkunft und die EmpfĂ€nger dieser Umgebung.

Threads ist ein faszinierender Dialog zwischen Körper und Technologie und enthĂŒllt wie zweideutig die Beziehungen zwischen organischem und kĂŒnstlichem Leben sein können.


Credits

Composer Roque Rivas

Choreography Shang-Shi Sun

Stage & technology Christophe Lebreton

Danse Ruben Reniers, Annapaola Leso

Light Hans FrĂŒndt

Video Ting Hao Yeh, Chien-Chao Wang

A production by GRAME, National Centre for Contemporary Music, Lyon and DAC, Digital Art Centre, Taipei

EARLIER DATES
22. Oktober 2016 | Threads + Traverse | Tongyeong International Music Foundation, South Korea
17. Juni 2014 | Threads + Traverse | Enghiens (F), Festival Bains Numériques
15. März 2014 | Threads | Biennale Musiques en Scène, ENSATT, Lyon (F)
November 22nd to 23rd 2013 | Threads | 8th Digital Performing Arts Taipei (TW)

Pictures

Video

Trailer Threads

 
DE · EN