SHANG-CHI SUN

Start   › Works   › Vita   › Dates   › Pictures   › Videos   › Downloads   › Contact   › Imprint  


The Photographer

With the Ensemble KNM Berlin, Music by Philip Glass
2014
Credits   Dates   Pictures   Video   Downloads


The Photographer

With the Ensemble KNM Berlin, Music by Philip Glass
2014
Credits   Dates   Pictures   Video   Downloads

In the center of this mixed media project is the work of English photographer Eadweard Muybridge (1830-1904). He left very young England to go to America where he coped with the new field of photography. On the occasion of a bet he started in 1872 his movement studies of humans and animals that interessed him throughout his life. He wanted to visually demonstrate that a galloping horse has at one moment all four legs in the air. Muybride is famous with hiss series of photographs and continuous shootings as one of the most important representatives of early chronophotography. He invented the photography series using a complex technical design for the 19th Century and created the conditions for the development of the film.
Almost forgotten, however, are the other events of his life. 1874 Muybridge murdered his wife's lover, Colonel Larkyns, after the discovery of their letter exchange. In the following trial he was acquitted because of "excusable crime".
The Photographer was commissioned in 1982 by the Holland Festival and was premiered in the same year at the Royal Palace Amsterdam. In Germany it has not been staged until now. This may be due to the unique structure of this work: the theater , the visualization, the concert and dance are not simultaneously but successively inserted into the 3 acts.

Act I shows as a drama the events surrounding the crime of Muybridge and his subsequent acquittal.
Act II combines images with music and is taked the form of a concert for Violin and Ensemble.
Act III brings in a furious dance finale, that belongs to the best works heard of Philip Glass, the characters of the first act - but this time as a dancer - back into the action.


PRESS REVIEWS

"Three dancers-actors come alive entering the house through the audience, especially David Essing (Larkyns) who wanders the rows, repeating the murder scene with his fist, banging and crashing in slow motion. The body of Annapaola Leso (Flora) then tells about the torture of being caught between marriage and passion, with broken arms, and shoulders lower than hips. Finally, a husband, at first rigid and distant, Ross Martinson (Muybridge) conducts his partners into a trio combining sensual grace and acrobatic energy in which the portés change their relationship. At the end, a deserved ovation greets these three artists, the conductor Manuel Nawri as well as the KNM Berlin and the six choristers of Vocalconsort Berlin."

Anaclase, Laurent Bergnach, 27th of September 2014


"Particularly challenging are the three main roles, because they are not only acted, but also danced in a spectacular last part. Annapaola Leso, Ross Martinson and David Essing furiously stormed onto the prepared stage of the concert hall. The choreography of the Taiwanese Shang-Chi Sun took advantage of Muybridge's famous motion studies as inspiration for his characters. (...) This lively and compact 75 minutes Philharmonic evening ended with loud cheers for the involved performers."

Kölner Rundschau, Matthias Corvin, 16th of September 2014 


"Nevertheless, this about 70 minutes long piece developed a considerable attraction - especially in the direction and choreography of the Taiwanese Shang-Chi Sun, which was performed as a guest production at the Kölner Philharmonie. Three excellent dancers (Annapaola Leso, Ross Martinson and David Essing), who were also performing as actors, were supported by six singers of the Vocal Consort Berlin and twelve musicians of the chamber ensemble Neue Musik Berlin under the direction of Manuel Nawri. (...) This was a very remarkable evening combining a fusion of cool precision and wild virtuosity, and was enthusiastically received by the audience. "

Kölner Stadt Anzeiger, 16th of September 2014


"Shang-Chi Sun has created an uncommon, form-fitting, clockwork-like choreography with repetition, which adds a sharpness to the music, whips it outright forward and drives out the warm embrace from Glass partition."

rbb info radio, Harald Asel, 7th of June 2014



Credits

Music Philip Glass

Libretto Rob Malasch  

Music direction Manuel Nawri 

Direction and choreography Shang-Chi Sun

Video Safy Etiel

With Ensemble KNM Berlin, Vocalconsort Berlin 

Dance, performance Annapaola Leso, Ross Martinson, David Essing

Costumes Melinda Stokes

Production Thomas Bruns, Jule Kauert 

PR Barbara Gstaltmayr 

Photos Bernd Uhlig, Sven Hagolani, Piero Chiussi

Performance rights Dunvagen New York 

The Photographer  is a project by Ensemble KNM Berlin in collaboration with Kunstbibliothek – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin and KölnMusik. It is supported by Hauptstadtkulturfonds will be performed at Museum für Fotografie Berlin, Kölner Philharmonie and Cité de la musique Paris. 

Upcoming Dates

December 2 & 3, 2017, National Taichung Theatre, Taichung (TW)

The Photographer
With the Ensemble KNM Berlin, Music by Philip Glass
EARLIER DATES
December 18th 2015 | The Photographer | Uferstudios Berlin (D)
December 17th 2015 | The Photographer | Uferstudios Berlin (D)
September 27th 2014 | The Photographer | Cité de la musique, Paris (F)
September 14th 2014 | The Photographer | Kölner Philharmonie, Köln (D)
Juni 5. bis 8. | The Photographer | Museum für Fotografie, Berlin

Pictures

Video

Beitrag Kulturradio The Photographer

Trailer The Photographer - Museum for Photography Berlin

Downloads

 
DE · EN

SHANG-CHI SUN

Start   › Works   › Vita   › Dates   › Pictures   › Videos   › Downloads   › Contact   › Imprint  


The Photographer

With the Ensemble KNM Berlin, Music by Philip Glass
2014
Credits   Dates   Pictures   Video   Downloads


The Photographer

With the Ensemble KNM Berlin, Music by Philip Glass
2014
Credits   Dates   Pictures   Video   Downloads

Im Zentrum dieses Mixed Media Werkes steht der englische Fotograf Eadweard Muybridge (1830-1904). Dieser verlieĂź sehr jung England in Richtung Amerika, um sich dem neuen Gebiet der Fotografie zu widmen. Anlässlich einer Wette begann er 1872 seine Bewegungsstudien von Menschen und Tieren, die ihn Zeit seines Lebens beschäftigten. Er wollte optisch beweisen, dass sich bei einem galoppierenden Pferd zeitweise alle vier Beine in der Luft befinden. Muybride gilt aufgrund seiner Reihenfotografien und Serienaufnahmen als einer der bedeutendsten frĂĽhen Vertreter der Chronofotografie. Er begrĂĽndete die Serienfotografie mit einem fĂĽr das ausgehende 19. Jahrhundert komplexen technischen Aufbau und schuf die Voraussetzungen fĂĽr die Entwicklung des Films. 
Fast vergessen jedoch sind die anderen Ereignisse seines Lebens. 1874 ermordete Muybridge den Liebhaber seiner Frau, Colonel Larkyns, nachdem ihm der Briefverkehr beider in die Hände gefallen war. Im darauffolgenden Prozess wurde er jedoch wegen „entschuldbaren Mordes“ freigesprochen. 
The Photographer entstand 1982 im Auftrag des Holland Festivals und wurde im selben Jahr im Royal Palace Amsterdam uraufgefĂĽhrt. In Deutschland erlebte es bisher keine Realisierung. Das mag an der einzigartigen Struktur dieses Werkes liegen: Mittel des Theaters, der Visualisierung, des Konzerts und des Tanzes werden nicht simultan sondern sukzessiv in den 3 Akten eingesetzt.

Akt I erzählt als Schauspiel die Ereignisse rund um das Verbrechen von Muybridge und seinen späteren Freispruch.
Akt II verbindet Bild mit Musik und wird in Form eines Konzerts fĂĽr Violine und Ensemble präsentiert.
Akt III bringt in einem furiosen Tanzfinale, das zu den besten Arbeiten von Philip Glass gehört, die Charaktere des ersten Akts – diesmal jedoch als Tänzer – zurĂĽck ins Geschehen.

PRESSESTIMMEN

"Drei Tänzer-Schauspieler werden beim Eingang des Publikums lebendig, vor allem David Essing (Larkyns), der durch die Gänge wandert und die Mord-Szene mit Faustschlag, Knall und Fall in Zeitlupe wiederholt. Dann erzählt der Körper von Annapaola Leso (Flora) mit gebrochenen Armen oder mit Schultern, die tiefer als das Becken hängen, von der Qual, zwischen starrer Ehe und Leidenschaft gefangen zu sein. Schließlich Ross Martinson (Muybridge), zuerst kühler und sturer Ehemann, der seine Partner in ein Trio zwischen sinnlicher Gnade und akrobatischer Energie führt, in dem das Porté die Verbindungen verwandelt. Am Ende eine verdiente Ovation für diese drei Künstler, den Dirigent Manuel Nawri sowie das KNM Berlin und die sechs Chorsänger vom Vocalconsort Berlin."

Anaclase, Laurent Bergnach, 27. September 2014


„Besonders anspruchsvoll sind die drei Hauptrollen, denn sie müssen nicht nur geschauspielert, sondern im letzten, spektakulären Teil auch getanzt werden. Furios stürmten Annapaola Leso, Ross Martinson und David Essing über die präparierte Bühne des Konzertsaals. Die Choreographie des Taiwanesen Shang-Chi Sun nutzte dabei auch Muybridges berühmte Bewegungsstudien als Anregung für seine Figuren. (...) So schloss dieser gut besuchte und mit 75 Minuten kompakte Philharmonie-Abend mit lautstarkem Jubel für alle Beteiligte“.

Kölnische Rundschau, Matthias Corvin, 16. September 2014

 

„Dennoch entwickelt das etwa 70 Minuten währende Stück einen beträchtlichen Sog – zumal in der Inszenierung und Choreographie des Taiwanesen Shang-Chi Sun, die als Gastproduktion in der Kölner Philharmonie zu erleben war. Drei exzellente Tänzer (Annapaola Leso, Ross Martinson und David Essing), die auch als Schauspieler agierten, wurden von sechs Sängerinnen des Vocalconsort Berlin und zwölf Instrumentalisten des Kammerensembles Neue Musik Berlin unter der Leitung von Manuel Nawri flankiert. (...) Unter der Verschmelzung von kühler Präzision und entfesselter Virtuosität war dies ein sehr bemerkenswerter Abend, der vom Publikum entsprechend begeistert aufgenommen wurde.“

Kölner Stadtanzeiger, 16. September 2014


„Shang-Chi Sun hat eine in ihrer Repetition ungemein körperbetonte, uhrwerkhafte Choreographie erstellt, die der Musik Schärfe beifügt, sie geradezu vor sich herpeitscht und ihr das bei Glass nun allmählich beginnende Schmusige austreibt.“

rbb inforadio, Harald Asel, 7. Juni 2014

Credits

Music Philip Glass

Libretto Rob Malasch  

Music direction Manuel Nawri 

Direction and choreography Shang-Chi Sun

Video Safy Etiel

With Ensemble KNM Berlin, Vocalconsort Berlin 

Dance, performance Annapaola Leso, Ross Martinson, David Essing

Costumes Melinda Stokes

Production Thomas Bruns, Jule Kauert 

PR Barbara Gstaltmayr 

Photos Bernd Uhlig, Sven Hagolani, Piero Chiussi

Performance rights Dunvagen New York 

The Photographer  is a project by Ensemble KNM Berlin in collaboration with Kunstbibliothek – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin and KölnMusik. It is supported by Hauptstadtkulturfonds will be performed at Museum fĂĽr Fotografie Berlin, Kölner Philharmonie and CitĂ© de la musique Paris. 

Upcoming Dates

December 2 & 3, 2017, National Taichung Theatre, Taichung (TW)

The Photographer
With the Ensemble KNM Berlin, Music by Philip Glass
EARLIER DATES
18. Dezember 2015 | The Photographer | Uferstudios Berlin (D)
17. Dezember 2015 | The Photographer | Uferstudios Berlin (D)
27. September 2014 | The Photographer | Cité de la musique, Paris (F)
14. September 2014 | The Photographer | Kölner Philharmonie, Köln (D)
Juni 5. bis 8. | The Photographer | Museum für Fotografie, Berlin

Pictures

Video

Beitrag Kulturradio The Photographer

Trailer The Photographer - Museum for Photography Berlin

Downloads

 
DE · EN